Sri Lankan Parliament Vetoes No-Confidence Motion Against Government

COLOMBO, Sri Lanka, July 12 (NNN-SL NEWS) – The Sri Lankan parliament, yesterday, vetoed a no-confidence motion against the government, with 119 legislators voting against and 92 voting in favour in the 225-member house.

The motion was taken up for vote after a two-day debate.

The motion was submitted to parliament on Wednesday, by an opposition political party, the Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP), which stated that the government must resign over their failure to prevent the Easter Sunday terror attacks.

JVP leader, Anura Kumara Dissanayaka, told parliament that, the no-confidence motion was submitted against the prime minister, the cabinet of ministers and the government, over their failure to take prompt action to prevent the suicide bombings on April 21, despite the police having prior knowledge of possible attacks.

The terror attacks killed over 250 people and injured over 500 others.– NNN-SL NEWS